New Arthur Irving Academy Scholarship Recipients Announced

Prestigious awards for students pursuing environmental research at Acadia University

WOLFVILLE, NS, October 5, 2015 – Five Acadia University students are this year’s recipients of the Arthur Irving Scholarships in Environmental Science, academic awards that are among the most prestigious in Canada. The Arthur Irving Academy Scholarships are conferred on undergraduate and graduate students who combine exceptional academic credentials with leadership, community volunteerism, and other extracurricular activities.

“The Arthur Irving Scholarships in Environmental Science are Acadia’s most prestigious awards and represent our institutional commitment to attracting outstanding students who are interested in the significant local and global environmental challenges we face as a society,” said Ray Ivany, President and Vice-Chancellor of Acadia.

Established by Arthur Irving, Chancellor Emeritus of Acadia University, and the Arthur L. Irving Family Foundation, these scholarships open the door to unique learning experiences at the K.C. Irving Environmental Science Centre and the Harriet Irving Botanical Gardens, world-class facilities that are integral to each student’s education. First-year and third-year undergraduates receive $15,000 annually, while graduate students in Acadia’s two-year Master’s program receive $20,000 per year.

"Congratulations to the 2015 Arthur Irving Scholarship recipients," said Arthur Irving. "I was happy to meet with them and last year's recipients at a scholar's dinner, in their honour, at the K.C. Irving Environmental Science Centre. They told me of the many ways the financial support, mentorship, and research opportunities afforded by the scholarships have enhanced their lives."

Ray Ivany emphasized that “The Irving family’s generosity and commitment to fostering academic curiosity in young people cannot be overstated. The K.C. Irving Environmental Science Centre and Harriet Irving Botanical Gardens are remarkable facilities where students and faculty undertake important research projects. I want to congratulate the scholarship winners by challenging them to use this opportunity to make a contribution to our society by pursuing their personal passion for the environment.”

This year’s Arthur Irving Scholars include:

Arthur Irving Scholarship in Environmental Science

Tyler d'Entremont is from Pubnico, Nova Scotia, an area whose renowned lobster and ground fish industries served as Tyler's inspiration for examining how these organisms can be sustained in the face of environmental pollution. Through his BSc in Biology program, Tyler has developed a keen interest in research geared to achieving breakthroughs in understanding how plants and animals can be made more resilient to environmental degradation, and how industrial waste can be made less toxic or altogether harmless. A Governor General's Academic Medal winner in high school, Tyler is a multi-sport athlete and, in high school, served as the President of his Student Council and as Chair of the Drumlin Health Board.

Hannah Machat from Dartmouth, Nova Scotia believes the natural parks and wilderness she visited as a child should be preserved so future generations can enjoy the same activities that fueled her curiosity for environmental research. Hannah began studying for her BSc in Environmental Science in September 2015 and hopes to find new ways to reduce our impact on natural resources. Hannah is a multi-sport athlete, violinist, active community volunteer and has held several leadership positions in student government, school clubs and Ringette Nova Scotia.

Megan MacIsaac from Creignish, Nova Scotia, began pursuing her Bachelor’s Degree in Environmental Science in September 2015. Megan’s appreciation for her rural community and the many outdoor experiences it offered ignited her interest in environmental research as a means of driving change in our approach to environmental stewardship and personal responsibility. Megan’s extra-curricular activities while in high school included involvement with various clubs and committees, video/website production, community volunteerism and 4H Club leadership.

Sarah Stewart has already launched her research career through her volunteer and summer work experience at the Tantramar Wetlands Centre located next to her home in Sackville, New Brunswick. Sarah is pursuing a BSc in Environmental Science with an interest in researching aquatic life and how humans can reduce their environmental footprint. Sarah excels at badminton, having competed for New Brunswick at the Canada Games, and is a jazz musician and choreographer.

Arthur Irving Graduate Scholarship in Environmental Science

Jocelyn Kickbush’s passion for the environment, communications, and community engagement has encouraged her to focus her research interests on the interaction between humans and nature. Originally from Kaleden, B.C., Jocelyn earned her BSc Environmental Science (Honours) cum laude from Saint Mary’s University in May 2015 where she was a Dean’s List scholar and was awarded the Environmental Sciences prize. Jocelyn began her graduate studies at Acadia in September 2015 working with Dr. Nelson O’Driscoll to generate important new insights into the speciation of mercury that is mobilized and consequently accumulates in Nova Scotia wetlands pre- and post-remediation, and thereby contribute to the development of innovative remediation strategies. Jocelyn will perform fieldwork on Brier Island and use facilities in the K.C. Irving Environmental Science Centre to complement field studies by examining mercury uptake in the lower trophic levels using a model system.

More information about the Arthur Irving Academy Scholarships in Environmental Science can be found here. More information about the K.C Irving Environmental Science Centre and the Harriet Irving Botanical Gardens can be found here.

Pictured above are the 2014-15 and 2015-16 Arthur Irving Academy Scholarship recipients: (left to right, back row) Tyler d’Entremont (2015-16); University President Ray Ivany; Sarah Adams (2014-15); Baillie Holmes (2014-15); Chancellor Emeritus Dr. Arthur Irving (’52); Sadie Moland (2014-15); Sarah Fancy (2014-15); Rachel Clarke (2014-15); Adam Godfrey (2014-15); (front row, 2015-16 recipients)  Jocelyn Kickbush; Megan MacIsaac; Hannah Machat; and Sarah Stewart.


Dr. David Kristie
Director of Research
K.C. Irving Environmental Science Centre
Phone: 902-585-1573


Go back