Convocation Celebrates New Graduates & Alumni

Inspirational alumni recognized as part of 150th anniversary of association

Acadia University is set to award nearly 850 degrees during Spring Convocation May 16 and 17 at University Hall in Wolfville. Students will graduate from the faculties of Arts, Pure and Applied Science, Professional Studies, and Theology.

During the ceremonies, Acadia will also grant honorary degrees to six individuals who have made outstanding contributions to society. On the occasion of the 150th anniversary of Acadia's alumni association, each of the recipients is an Acadia graduate.

"Convocation is a special time of year as we gather to celebrate the academic accomplishments of our students," said Ray Ivany, Acadia's president and vice-chancellor. "Our distinguished honorary degree recipients demonstrate the heights one can achieve when you begin your life's story at Acadia. We're proud to be sharing this convocation with each of them."

For the first time in its history, Acadia will also be providing co-curricular transcripts to participating graduates. This official university transcript document a student's involvement in four areas - professional and educational development, leadership, participation, and awards- both on and off campus during their career at Acadia.

Conferring of Honorary Degrees

Faculty of Arts, Faculty of Theology

Sunday, May 16, 2010 - 3 p.m.

Sylvia D. Hamilton                  Rev. João Samuel Matwawana

Doctor of Letters                  Doctor of Divinity

Creative force Sylvia D. Hamilton ('72) is a writer, poet, film-maker, social activist, historian, and educator who has made a difference and inspired hope among all she has touched. She will provide the Convocation address on Sunday, May 16. She will receive a Doctor of Letters. Also on May 16, Rev. João Samuel Mawawana ('80), who has served as a pastor, missionary, and peace activist, will receive a Doctor of Divinity.


Faculty of Pure and Applied Science

Morning Convocation

Monday, May 17, 2010 - 10 a.m.

Dr. Elizabeth Cannon              Clara Jefferson

Doctor of Science                  Doctor of Civil Laws

At the morning ceremony on Monday, May 17, Dr. Elizabeth Cannon ('82) will be awarded the Doctor of Science and deliver the Convocation address. Dr. Cannon has recently been appointed president of University of Calgary following a stellar career as an innovator in the area of satellite navigation and a promoter of the sciences for girls. During the same ceremony, longtime Acadia supporter, home economics instructor, and community and political advocate Mrs. Clara Jefferson ('48) will receive a Doctor of Civil Laws.


Faculty of Professional Studies

Afternoon Convocation

Monday, May 17, 2010 - 2:30 p.m. -

Dr. Joni Guptill                        John T. Clark

Doctor of Civil Laws                 Doctor of Civil Laws

During the afternoon ceremony on Monday, May 17, Dr. Joni Guptill ('77) will present the Convocation address. Dr. Guptill serves as president of the Board of Directors of Médecins Sans Frontières/Doctors Without Borders, a post she took after years of work in developing countries. She will be awarded a Doctor of Civil Laws. At the same ceremony, New Brunswick-based community leader and entrepreneur John T. Clark ('52) will be presented with a Doctor of Civil Laws.

About Acadia University
Acadia University, in Wolfville, Nova Scotia, has long been recognized as one of Canada's premier post-secondary institutions. With its nationally and internationally recognized undergraduate and graduate research initiatives, small classes and technology-rich teaching and learning environment, Acadia offers students an experience that includes academic achievement combined with personal growth and development. Acadia also offers distance learning, certificate programs, language training and other university extension programs through Open Acadia. For more information about Acadia University, visit our website at



Go back

 Media Centre  Communications Office

Media Contact

Robyn McBain
Director, Marketing and Communications 902-585-1705