Stewart claims Gino Fracas Award

Acadia Football Coach wins CIS Volunteer Coach of the Year Award

Larry Stewart
Acadia's Larry Stewart receives CIS volunteer award.

Québec City, QC - Larry Stewart originally from Smith Falls, ON started his life in Nova Scotia in 1978 when he played for Saint Mary's University. After Larry's four years as a player with Saint Mary's he began coaching at St-Patrick's Secondary School in Halifax, NS from 1983-1985.

In 1997 the year before joining the coaching staff at Saint Mary's University he was invited as a guest coach at St-FX where Gino Fracas was the head coach. In 1998 Larry joined the coaching staff at Saint Mary's where he went on to coach for a very successful six years. During Larry's time as Offensive Line Coach the Huskies went on to win 6 conference championships and 2 Vanier Cups.

Larry has just finished is second year with the Acadia Axemen as the Assistant Offensive Line Coach. Currently he resides in Wolfeville, NS with his wife Suzanne a graduate of Acadia University. The two have a daughter Emily-Anne as well as a Siberian husky Anna. When Larry is not coaching he is a Safety officer Dept of Labour & Workforce Development Occupational and Safety Division.

"Larry coaches a position where praise can be hard to come by and mistakes are immediately apparent so his ability to get across to his young men the corrections that they need to hear without completely tearing them down, and his excitement after a great play, are key to our development of a very young offensive line." Jeff Cummins - Head Coach Acadia Axemen.

This award is named to honour a man who has made a lifetime of outstanding contributions to amateur football. Gino Fracas moved right into a coaching role after his days with the Edmonton Eskimos with the University of Alberta head coach position. He led them to three league championships in the next four years. In 1963 his team won the Golden Bowl, the unofficial university National Championship and he also appeared in the very first Canadian College Bowl in 1965.

Gino has received many accolades for his contributions both as a player and coach. He was highly respected and admired for his dedication and commitment to the great sport of Canadian football.

The award created by Football Canada to pay recognition to the assistant coach that provides endless hours to improve the experience for the players and to support the other coaches. This award will ensure we continue to be able to recognize Gino's legacy within the game of football as it also continues to recognize the contribution of the assistant coach.


Pierre Lefebvre 2009
Terry Chisholm 2008
Nigel Wilson 2007
Wayne Harris Jr. 2006
Richard Urbanovich 2005
Ross Lemke 2004
Rob Dalley 2003
Barry Radcliffe 2002
Frank Gesztesi 2001
Kevin Artichuk 2000
John Belmont 1999
Mark Forsyth 1998
Rita Sue Bolton 1997
Peter Regimbald 1996
Gary Kirchner 1995
Bill Miklas 1994
Bob Mullen 1993
Doug Smith 1992
Clarke Samways 1991
John MacNeil 1990
Phil Hughes 1989
Morgan Clark 1988

-Football Canada-


News release courtesy Canadian Interuniversity Sport

Go back

 Media Centre  Communications Office

Media Contact

Robyn McBain
Director, Marketing and Communications 902-585-1705