2010 Football Canada Cup kicks off

The 2010 Football Canada Cup is set to take place from July 10- 17 in Wolfville, Nova Scotia at Raymond Field on Acadia University's campus. This event showcases the best Under-18 Football players from across Canada featuring the top high school and midget football players, who have not yet played at the university or junior level.

The tournament consists of three games within a six day span. Each team plays two preliminary games followed by a final third and deciding game. Ultimately, the two undefeated teams will play for the title of national champion.  

The Football Canada Cup was established in 1992 as an under-19 National Tackle Football Championship with the addition of the under-17 Championship created in 2004. In accordance with the Long Term Athlete Development Model and growth of football across the country the championship has shifted its focus to a new age category to support the player development that is taking place within the provinces.

The 2010 National Under-18 event will be the first time in the event's history that we will have representation from seven provinces at one time in one division.  

The event has grown in recent years as 2010 marks the greatest number of provincial entries in Football Canada Cup history which includes two teams from Ontario, and one team each from British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Québec and Nova Scotia. This year also marks the return of British Columbia into the tournament having last played in the Canada Cup in 2000.

Last year's event took place in Saskatoon, SK. Saskatchewan beat Alberta 17 - 4 in the U19 tournament while Eastern Ontario beat South Alberta 42 - 7 in the U17 Final.This year also marks the second time in FCC history that the event is held on the East coast with Halifax having hosted the event back in 1998.    

Tickets are available in person at the Acadia Box office or by phone by calling 1-800-542-8425. Day passes cost $10 while an event pass costs $25.   

Visit www.footballcanadacup.ca and www.footballcanada.com for more information.    

Schedule  Sunday July 11th, 2010 - Game Day 1

Game 1 - MB vs. SK @ 10:00 am

Opening Ceremonies 1:00 pm

Game 2 - NS vs. AB @ 1:30 pm

Game 3 ON West vs. QC @ 4:30 pm

Game 4 - BC vs. ON East @ 7:30 pm    

Wednesday July 14th, 2010 - Game Day 2

Game 5 - Loser of Game 1 vs. Loser of Game 4 @ 10:00 am

Game 6 - Loser of Game 2 vs. Loser of Game 3 @ 1:00 pm

Game 7 - Winner of Game 1 vs. Winner of Game 4 @ 4:00 pm

Game 8 - Winner of Game 2 vs. Winner of Game 3 @ 7:00 pm  

Saturday July 17th, 2010 - Game Day 3

Game 9 - Loser of Game 5 vs. Loser of game 6 @ 10:00 am (7th & 8th - Consolation)

Game 10 - Winner of Game 5 vs. Winner of Game 6 @ 1:00 pm (5th & 6th - Consolation)

Game 11- Loser of Game 7 vs. Loser of Game 8 @ 4:00 pm (Bronze Medal)

Game 12 - Winner of Game 7 vs. Winner of Game 8 @ 7:00 pm (Gold Medal)


Established in 1884, Football Canada is the national governing body of amateur football in Canada and a proud member of the International Federation of American Football (IFAF). Working closely with the provincial football associations, we develop programs and resources for players, coaches, officials in the three disciplines of Tackle, Flag and Touch Football. Football Canada's vision statement is "from playground to stadium" where players can participate in the game of football throughout a lifetime recreationally, competitively and internationally.

2010 Football Canada   613-564-0003   WWW.FOOTBALLCANADA.COM

Go back

 Media Centre

 Communications Office

Media Contact

Sherri Turner
Director, University Communications