Alumni Association holds AGM: sets strategic priorities, applauds outgoing Board members

The Acadia Alumni Association’s Annual General Meeting occurred on Saturday, May 7, 2022. It was the Association’s first hybrid meeting and there were approximately 35 attendees from across Canada, the United States, The Bahamas, and Germany. The Board reported on finances, programming, and the many strategic initiatives undertaken over the past year. The 2021-2022 Annual Report was also presented and is available to view HERE.

During the AGM, the Board celebrated the following retiring members who dedicated years of service to the Association: Hilary Arenburg Gobien (’12); Ryan Conrod (’06) – former president; David Davidson (’81) – former secretary; Tiffany James (’14); and Tammy Walker (’92) – outgoing treasurer.

The Board also welcomed new Directors including: Barb Anderson (’77); Paul Black (’00); Dr. Ron Malcolm (’82, ’83); Véronique Russell (’16); Olivia Shive (’21); and ex-officio member and Class of 2023 Life President, Sophia Blanchard.

Additionally, a new slate of Executive Officers was elected: President - Matthew Rios (’14); Past-President - Donalda MacBeath (’75); Vice-President - Christine Luckasavitch (’11); Treasurer - Sam Zhang (’05); and Secretary - Stephanie Reid (’05).

The Alumni Board also held a two-day retreat following the AGM and covered topics including orientation, governance, finance, and the Association’s Strategic Plan. During the retreat, committee membership was determined with the following Directors as Chairs: Executive - Matthew Rios (’14); Awards - Moira MacLean (’85); Communications - Heather Hickman (’77); Events - Kyle Power (’13); Finance - Sam Zhang (’05); Governance - Jeff Aucoin (’96); Nominating - Donalda MacBeath (’75); and Young Alumni - Kelton Thomason (’07, ’10).

Alumni Board members also participated in many Convocation Weekend events, including Parents’ Night, the Grad Banquet, and a luncheon for Honorary Degree recipients. Topping off the weekend was the pinning of new graduates as they crossed the stage.

The 2022-2023 Alumni Association Board of Directors is a passionate and dedicated group of volunteers and they are off to a flying start on what will certainly be a productive year!

If you're interested in being considered as a candidate for the Acadia Alumni Association's Board of Directors, please consider submitting an “Expression of Interest.” Learn more by visiting:

Pictured above, left to right: Donalda MacBeath (Past-President), Hilary Arenburg Gobien, Tammy Walker, Ryan Conrod, David Davidson, and Matt Rios (President). Missing from the photo: Tiffany James.


Go back


Office of Alumni Affairs
Wu Welcome Centre @ Alumni Hall
512 Main Street
Wolfville, NS B4P 2R6, Canada
Alumni Inquiries: 902.585.1708
Toll free in North America:
1.866.ACADIAU (1.866.222.3428)
Alumni Fax: 902.585.1069